ADHD Documentation for Stimulant Prescribing: PMHNP Guide

Good ADHD documentation for stimulant prescribing shows how you reached the diagnosis, not just that you reached it. A defensible chart links each DSM-5 criterion to evidence (symptom count, childhood onset, impairment in two or more settings, rule-outs), records the misuse-risk assessment that stimulant labeling requires, and states how you will measure response. For PMHNPs treating adults by telehealth, that record is what a payer, a pharmacy, a board, or the DEA will read when they ask whether a Schedule II prescription served a legitimate medical purpose.

Clinician writing in a patient’s medical record on a clipboard Photo by Vitaly Gariev on Unsplash

This guide is written for psychiatric nurse practitioners in solo or small practices, where there is no compliance team to catch gaps. It is educational, not legal advice. State boards, payers, and collaborating-physician agreements can add requirements, so check them for your practice. If you want a standardized objective measure in the chart, objective ADHD testing with AxonCPT is one option; the checklist below works with or without it. For the diagnostic workup that should precede this documentation, see adult ADHD evaluation: a step-by-step clinician workup.

Why does ADHD documentation matter more for PMHNPs?

Three pressures meet in the chart of a PMHNP who prescribes stimulants:

  • The legal standard. Under federal regulation, a controlled-substance prescription “must be issued for a legitimate medical purpose by an individual practitioner acting in the usual course of his professional practice” (21 CFR 1306.04(a)) [1]. The chart is how you show both parts.
  • Labeling requirements. Since FDA’s May 2023 class-wide update, stimulant labels tell prescribers to assess each patient’s risk of abuse, misuse, and addiction before prescribing and to reassess it throughout treatment [2][3]. For what’s actually changed since (and what hasn’t) on the cardiac-warning question, see FDA black-box warning for ADHD stimulants: what’s true now.
  • Telehealth scrutiny. Remote Schedule II prescribing currently depends on temporary DEA flexibilities that run through December 31, 2026 [4]. Enforcement cases involving telehealth stimulant prescribing have made reviewers look harder at how diagnoses were made. Our summary of lessons from the Done Global case covers the compliance side.

On top of that, many PMHNPs practice under a collaborative or supervisory agreement, and some agreements specify chart review or prescribing protocols. Your documentation has to meet that agreement too.

What should the diagnostic note include?

Build the note around the DSM-5 criteria. For people aged 17 and older, DSM-5 requires at least five symptoms of inattention and/or five of hyperactivity-impulsivity, several symptoms present before age 12, several present in two or more settings, clear evidence of impairment, and symptoms not better explained by another condition [5].

DSM-5 element What to document Weak version Stronger version
Symptom count Which specific symptoms, with examples “Meets criteria for ADHD” Lists 6 of 9 inattentive symptoms, each with a concrete example from work or home
Onset before 12 Source of childhood history “Symptoms since childhood” Parent interview, school report cards, or a structured childhood-symptom section
Two or more settings Where symptoms appear Not stated Work (missed deadlines, write-ups) and home (bills, driving)
Impairment Functional consequences “Struggles at work” Performance improvement plan, failed courses, financial penalties
Rule-outs What else you considered and why it doesn’t explain the picture Not stated Screened for depression, anxiety, sleep disorder, substance use; reasoning recorded

Two habits make a big difference:

  1. Name your sources. Record which information came from the patient, an informant, records, a rating scale, or a test. A diagnosis resting on one self-report source is the hardest to defend.
  2. Write the reasoning, not just the conclusion. One paragraph that integrates the sources (“childhood onset corroborated by mother; impairment documented at work; anxiety symptoms began after ADHD symptoms and do not account for them”) carries more weight than a checked template.

Standardized rating scales belong in the record with the scores and the date. For how scales and performance tests complement each other, see ADHD rating scales vs. objective testing.

What pre-prescribing checks should be in the chart?

Before the first stimulant prescription, document:

  • Misuse, abuse, and addiction risk. The 2023 labeling says to assess each patient’s risk before prescribing, educate patients about storage and disposal, and reassess throughout treatment [2][3]. Record the substance-use history, any screening instrument used, and your conclusion.
  • Cardiac history. Current labeling (for example, Adderall XR, revised 10/2023) tells prescribers to assess for cardiac disease before treatment, with a careful history, family history of sudden death or ventricular arrhythmia, and physical exam [3]. For telehealth patients, write down how you obtained vitals or an exam, or who did.
  • Mania and psychosis risk. The same labeling recommends screening for risk factors for a manic episode before initiating [3].
  • PDMP check. Most states have mandatory PDMP query rules, and they differ by state. The PDMP Training and Technical Assistance Center keeps a state-by-state list [6]. Note the date and result of every check.
  • Controlled-substance agreement and informed consent. Record what you discussed: risks, storage, not sharing, refill rules, and how you will monitor.

These checks also answer most payer prior-authorization questions. Our stimulant prior authorization checklist maps them to real PA forms.

Try it with your next patient. AxonCPT gives you 2 free tests every month — no card required. Send a link, your patient finishes in ~16 minutes from home, and you get a norm-referenced report instantly. Create your free account →

Where does objective testing fit in the documentation?

No law, labeling, or payer form we reviewed requires a continuous performance test (CPT) before prescribing a stimulant. A CPT also cannot diagnose ADHD on its own. What it adds is a standardized, dated, norm-referenced data point that does not depend on self-report. That matters in two places:

  • At diagnosis, as one source among interview, history, collateral, and rating scales. If the test result and the clinical picture disagree, record how you weighed them.
  • At follow-up, as a repeatable measure. A retest at a dose change gives the chart something more specific than “patient reports improvement.” Our guide to using objective data in ADHD medication titration covers how to compare results across visits.

Be honest about limitations in the note. Remote administration introduces environmental variables, performance tests have imperfect sensitivity and specificity, and a normal result does not rule ADHD out.

What should follow-up notes document?

Stimulant documentation doesn’t end at the first prescription. Each medication-management note should record:

  • Target symptoms and functional goals, and whether they are changing
  • Dose, formulation, and the reason for any change
  • Blood pressure and pulse at appropriate intervals, as labeling advises [3]
  • Adverse effects, sleep, and appetite
  • Reassessment of misuse risk, including PDMP checks per your state’s rules [2][6]
  • Any objective or rating-scale measure repeated, with the date

A yearly note that restates the diagnosis, the evidence behind it, and the ongoing benefit is a practical way to keep the record current. It also helps with PA renewals.

How this looks in practice

Here is a documentation-first workflow a solo PMHNP can run by telehealth:

  1. Before the first visit: send a self-report scale and, where possible, an informant form. Request prior records.
  2. Diagnostic visit: a structured interview against DSM-5 criteria, childhood history, rule-outs, substance-use and cardiac history, and a PDMP check. Document each source.
  3. Objective measure: with AxonCPT you send the patient a link from your account. They complete the test at home in about 16 minutes on any device, with no app or login. The report arrives instantly, with five metrics compared against age- and sex-matched norms from a 20,000+ reference dataset and a Q1–Q4 vigilance breakdown. You can see what the report looks like.
  4. Integration note: a paragraph that ties the sources together and states the diagnosis and reasoning.
  5. Treatment plan: the medication, the risk discussion, and how you will measure response. Include which measures you will repeat and when.
  6. Follow-up: repeat the same measures at dose changes so the chart shows a trend, not just a series of opinions.

Frequently asked questions

Do I need a psychological evaluation before prescribing stimulants to an adult? Federal rules don’t require a formal psychological evaluation. The diagnosis must be supported, and the prescription must serve a legitimate medical purpose [1]. Some payers and some collaborative agreements set their own requirements, so check both.

How much childhood history is enough? DSM-5 requires several symptoms before age 12 [5]. Informant interviews and school records are stronger than recall alone. When no corroboration is available, note that and explain how you weighed the patient’s account.

Does a normal CPT result mean I shouldn’t prescribe? No. A CPT is one data source and can be normal in people with ADHD. Document how the result fits with the interview, history, and rating scales, and why you reached your decision.

How often should I check the PDMP for stimulant patients? It depends on your state. Mandatory query rules vary, and the PDMP TTAC list gives state citations [6]. Many clinicians check at initiation and at regular intervals, and they always document the result.

Start testing your patients with AxonCPT

When your stimulant prescribing is reviewed, the question will be how you know, not just what you concluded. AxonCPT adds a standardized, norm-referenced attention measure to your ADHD documentation, and patients complete it from home in about 16 minutes. You get 2 free tests every month with no card required. Create your free AxonCPT account or learn more at axoncpt.com.

References

  1. Code of Federal Regulations. 21 CFR 1306.04 — Purpose of issue of prescription. Accessed September 27, 2026.
  2. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. FDA updating warnings to improve safe use of prescription stimulants used to treat ADHD and other conditions. Drug Safety Communication, May 11, 2023.
  3. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Adderall XR prescribing information. Revised October 2023. (Check Drugs@FDA for the current label of the product you prescribe.)
  4. Drug Enforcement Administration & Department of Health and Human Services. Fourth Temporary Extension of COVID-19 Telemedicine Flexibilities for Prescription of Controlled Medications. Federal Register, December 31, 2025.
  5. Epstein JN, Loren REA. Changes in the definition of ADHD in DSM-5: subtle but important. Neuropsychiatry (London). 2013;3(5):455–458.
  6. PDMP Training and Technical Assistance Center. Mandatory PDMP query conditions by state (printed October 29, 2025) and state profiles. Accessed September 27, 2026.